Junkyard Dog (A Villanelle)

When the junkyard dog wandered into sight,

though white knuckles clasp book bag’s strap

I did my best to muffle the deep fright.

 

The sun hid behind dark cloud all of his light,

shadows cause sweat to stop it’s trace of my temple

When the junkyard dog wandered into my sight.

 

Sharp teeth showed where yellow turned from white,

eyes, wet rocks reflect no mercy to my human form

I did my best to muffle my fright.

 

I knew there was nothing worse than beast’s bite,

jaw’s three hundred pounds of pressure haunted me

when the junkyard dog wandered into sight.

 

His long lean muscles hold stance tight,

fixed when he spots me invade his territory

I did my best to muffle my fright.

 

My heart sank to think with whom I may never reunite

I knew a brave faced sprint was the only escape, so

when the junkyard dog wandered into sight

I did my best to muffle my fright.

Leave a Reply

