Adderallnighter (A Pantoum)

After sitting through hours of darkness while

nimble fingers type straight through the night,

I stand in sunrise rays on the porch

ready to stumble into the bright day.

 

Nimble fingers type straight through the night,

disregard the small hours growing larger.

Ready to stumble into the bright day-

after this perfect paper’s final sentence.

 

Disregard the small hours growing larger,

time is irrelevant now, for

after this perfect paper’s final sentence,

the grade will reflect my work.

 

Time is irrelevant now, for

there is no way I can survive the night,

the grade will reflect my work,

will I even pass the class?

 

There is no way I can survive the night,

it’s early, but my fingers are silent

will I even pass the class?

I wasn’t made for this shit.

 

It is early but my fingers are silent,

there is no way I will finish this paper

I wasn’t made for this shit-

I should drop out and be a stripper.

 

There is no way I will finish this paper

due tomorrow and it’s already midnight!

I should drop out and be a stripper,

I haven’t even read the prompt yet.

 

Due tomorrow and it’s already midnight!

The professor warned us not to put this off-

I haven’t even read the prompt yet!

Guess I’ll have to pull an all nighter.

Leave a Reply

