On The Radio

How I despise those seven minutes

locked in a vehicle between

downtown home and uptown college

when every station plays through my stereo,

only talk shows or advertisements,

my ears sold to corporations

before I can comprehend compact disks

or the tangled iPhone cord

shoved under the front passenger’s seat.

When eyes struggle to stay open,

ears need most the sweet notes

and lyrics of song- even those

snap your fingers, happy-go-lucky

pop tunes which so often spew

off my speakers and into my head,

where they sleep all day.

Fingers dance against dashboard,

tease the knob in desperate

hope to find voices in song,

rather than sales.

Salvation comes as I slide

into the shuffling lot full of

students desperate to vacate

their vehicles and trudge

to day’s first class.

One thought on “On The Radio

Leave a Reply

