Running

Begrudged, I leave

stepping off my front porch and into

the dark, misty neighborhood of

high fences and doors shut tight.

 

With red headphones playing music

that competes with the

wind as it whistles across my bare ears. Block by

block flow under my feet.

Mindless time spent locked

behind my eyes.

 

Sidewalk littered with

soggy brown leaves, slugs that could lay

across all five of my toes,

leaving silvery trails that will dry to strands of

silk. Shadows which trick my unconscious response,

believing they are animated

by something more than the breeze.

 

Sweat crystallized to salt, eyes like

pretzels, a nose like a faucet.

Those things which afflict

my bone and skin hold

no weight to how I feel

within.

Leave a Reply

